开发人员控制台

DIAL集成


DIAL集成

Amazon Fire TV设备通过Whisperplay服务支持DIAL(发现和启动)协议。

关于DIAL

Amazon Fire TV设备通过Whisperplay服务支持DIAL(发现并启动)协议。DIAL是一种开放协议,利用该协议,Fire TV应用能通过第二屏幕应用从另一台设备发现,并启动。Fire TV和第二屏幕设备必须位于同一网络上。

请注意,DIAL不会转换或镜像API。DIAL仅允许第二屏幕设备上的应用查找和启动Fire TV上的应用。大多数情况下,您同时实现第二屏幕应用(用于发送启动消息)和相应的Fire TV应用(用于接收该消息)。

有关开放DIAL协议,以及为您的应用注册DIAL服务的详细信息,请参阅DIAL网站

实现DIAL

DIAL功能无需修改Amazon Fire TV应用的代码,但需要修改应用的清单和资源,以指示对DIAL的支持,接受启动意图(intents)。

要使Fire TV和第二屏幕应用支持DIAL,有五个步骤:

  1. 在第二屏幕应用中,实现DIAL协议以在Fire TV上发现和启动应用。有关更多信息,请参阅DIAL网站,特别是面向开发者的详细信息中的信息。下面提供了第二屏幕应用更改的简短描述。

  2. 在DIAL注册表中注册您的Fire TV应用。有关详细信息,请参阅关于注册表

  3. 在您的Fire TV应用中,处理DIAL启动意图有效负载。仅当您的第二屏幕应用发送意图有效负载时,此步骤才是必要的。该有效负载作为意图附加信息通过值COM.amazon.Extra.Dial_param提供。

  4. 在您的Fire TV应用中,修改Android清单以支持DIAL。请参阅修改您的Android清单

  5. 在您的Fire TV应用中,向应用的资源添加Whisperplay.xml文件。请参阅添加Whisperplay.xml文件

第二屏幕应用的更改

以下部分列出了您需要对第二屏幕应用进行的更改。

步骤A: 在支持DIAL的设备上实现发现服务

在第二屏幕应用(即DIAL客户端)上,实现DIAL协议的客户端规范。DIAL基于uPnP规范而建立。在后台活动或线程中,发送一个UDP M-SEARCH请求,其搜索目标为“urn:dial-multiscreen-org:service:dial:1”

Fire TV响应M-SEARCH请求,响应中包含唯一服务名称(USN)、用于获取设备描述的位置/URL以及搜索目标。由于可以从设备接收多个UDP响应,因此必须基于USN提取唯一设备。

以下是示例请求和响应。

M-SEARCH请求示例:

M-SEARCH * HTTP/1.1
HOST: 239.255.255.250:1900
MAN: "ssdp:discover"
MX: 10
ST: urn:dial-multiscreen-org:service:dial:1
USER-AGENT: OS/version product/version

M-SEARCH响应示例:

HTTP/1.1 200 OK
    USN: uuid:7b077d4c-a222-5b72-0000-0000182185c7::urn:dial-multiscreen-org:service:dial:1
    CACHE-CONTROL: max-age=1800
    EXT:
    ST: urn:dial-multiscreen-org:service:dial:1
    LOCATION: http://192.168.1.141:60000/upnp/dev/7b077d4c-a222-5b72-0000-0000182185c7/desc
    SERVER: Linux/4.4.120 UPnP/1.0 Cling/2.0

接下来,若要获取有关设备的更多信息,请使用M-SEARCH响应中的设备描述位置/URL来发送HTTP请求。响应在其标头中包含一个名为应用URL的重要属性,称为DIAL REST服务。此应用URL随后用于与设备上的应用进行交互。最好从响应正文中提取并存储设备友好型名称、型号名称和制造商,以便向用户显示这些值。

完成对M-SEARCH和设备描述请求的处理后,可以在UI中向用户显示找到的设备列表。

步骤B: 获取应用状态

在设备上启动应用之前,了解应用在设备上的状态非常重要。若要获取应用的状态,在用户选择要启动应用的设备后,向DIAL REST服务发送HTTP GET请求,其中将应用名称作为资源名称。请求中的应用名称必须与DIAL注册表中的注册名称匹配。

如果应用名称无法识别且应用未安装,则会返回HTTP 404错误。第二屏幕设备可向用户提供一个选项,用于在第一屏幕设备上安装来自应用商店的应用,但此功能超出了DIAL协议的范围。

如果HTTP请求成功,则DIAL服务器通过一个HTTP 200 OK响应进行响应。响应正文包含一个属性,可表明应用的状态—hidden (自v2.1起)、 stoppedrunninginstallable(请注意,Fire TV DIAL服务器当前不支持installable)。

步骤C: 启动应用

接下来,启动第一屏幕应用只需向DIAL REST服务发送HTTP POST请求,其中应用名称为资源名称,响应正文中有要向应用发送的任何其他有效负载。

常见的用例可以是指向要在应用中播放的视频或音乐内容的链接。DIAL服务器启动应用并传递移动应用发送的有效负载。第一屏幕应用负责处理响应第二屏幕应用发送的有效负载的操作。

与任何应用开发一样,必须小心清理和关闭网络连接资源、处理异常、在非UI阻塞线程中启动线程,以及在网络操作失败时优雅退出。

您Fire TV应用的更改

以下部分列出了您必须对Fire TV应用进行的更改。

步骤A: 修改您的Android清单

为了支持DIAL,您必须对Android清单(AndroidManifest.xml)进行两项更改:

  • <application>中添加一个<meta-data>元素,以指示支持Whisperplay和DIAL。
  • DEFAULT类别添加到您的启动意图中。

在清单的<application>部分中,添加以下<meta-data>元素:

<application ... >
    <meta-data android:name="whisperplay"  android:resource="@xml/whisperplay"/>
    ...
</application>

接下来,将DEFAULT意图类别添加到主活动的<intent-filter>元素中:

    <activity android:name=".MainActivity"
              android:label="@string/title_activity_main" >
        ...
        <intent-filter>
            <action android:name="android.intent.action.MAIN" />
            <category android:name="android.intent.category.LAUNCHER"/>
            <category android:name="android.intent.category.DEFAULT" />
        </intent-filter>
    </activity>

步骤B: 添加Whisperplay.xml文件

res/xml/目录内,将名为Whisperplay.xml的文件添加到您应用的资源中。该文件的内容应如下所示,其中DialAppName是您的应用在DIAL注册表中的名称:

<whisperplay>
    <dial>
        <application>
            <dialid>DialAppName</dialid>
            <startAction>android.intent.action.MAIN</startAction>
        </application>
    </dial>
</whisperplay>

步骤C: DIAL有效负载意图

如果应用接受DIAL有效负载(可通过DIAL启动请求传递给您的应用的信息),则该有效负载将通过值com.amazon.extra.DIAL_PARAM作为意图附加信息提供。

Developer Console

DIAL Integration

Amazon Fire TV devices support the DIAL (Discovery-and-Launch) protocol through the Whisperplay service.

About DIAL

Amazon Fire TV devices support the DIAL (Discovery-and-Launch) protocol through the Whisperplay service. DIAL is an open protocol that enables your Fire TV app to be discoverable and launchable from another device via a second screen app. Both Fire TV and the second screen device must be on the same network.

Note that DIAL is not a casting or mirroring API. DIAL only enables apps on a second screen device to find and launch apps on a Fire TV. In most cases you implement both the second screen app (to send a launch message) and the corresponding Fire TV app (to receive that message).

For more information about the open DIAL protocol and to register your app with the DIAL service, see the DIAL website.

Implementing DIAL

DIAL functionality does not require any changes to your Amazon Fire TV app's code, but you do need to modify your app's manifest and resources to indicate support for DIAL and to accept launch intents.

There are five steps to implementing DIAL support for your Fire TV and second screen apps:

  1. In your second screen app, implement the DIAL protocol to discover and launch apps on Fire TV. See the DIAL website for more information, and specifically the information in Details for Developers. A short description of changes to the second-screen app is provided below.

  2. Register your Fire TV app with the DIAL registry. See About the Registry for details.

  3. In your Fire TV app, handle DIAL launch intent payloads. This step is only necessary if your second screen app sends an intent payload. That payload is delivered as an Intent extra with the value com.amazon.extra.DIAL_PARAM.

  4. In your Fire TV app, modify the Android manifest to support DIAL. See Modify your Android Manifest.

  5. In your Fire TV app, add a Whisperplay.xml file to your app's resources. See Add the Whisperplay.xml File.

Changes to the Second-screen App

The following sections list changes you need to make to the second-screen app.

Step A: Implement the DIAL-enabled device discovery service

On the second-screen app (aka the DIAL client), implement the client specification of the DIAL protocol. DIAL is built on top of uPnP specification. In a background activity or thread, send a UDP M-SEARCH request with the search target as "urn:dial-multiscreen-org:service:dial:1".

Fire TV responds to the M-SEARCH request with a response containing a unique service name (USN), the location/URL to obtain device description, and the search target. Because it is possible to receive multiple UDP responses from the device, you must extract unique devices based on USN.

The following are a sample request and response.

Sample M-SEARCH Request:

M-SEARCH * HTTP/1.1
HOST: 239.255.255.250:1900
MAN: "ssdp:discover"
MX: 10
ST: urn:dial-multiscreen-org:service:dial:1
USER-AGENT: OS/version product/version

Sample M-SEARCH Response:

HTTP/1.1 200 OK
    USN: uuid:7b077d4c-a222-5b72-0000-0000182185c7::urn:dial-multiscreen-org:service:dial:1
    CACHE-CONTROL: max-age=1800
    EXT:
    ST: urn:dial-multiscreen-org:service:dial:1
    LOCATION: http://192.168.1.141:60000/upnp/dev/7b077d4c-a222-5b72-0000-0000182185c7/desc
    SERVER: Linux/4.4.120 UPnP/1.0 Cling/2.0

Next, to obtain more information about the device, send a HTTP request using the device description location URL in the M-SEARCH response. The response contains an important attribute in its header called Application-URL, referred to as the DIAL REST Service. This Application-URL is subsequently used to interact with the app on the device. From the response body, it is useful to extract and store the device-friendly name, model name, and manufacturer to display these values to the user.

After the processing of M-SEARCH and device descriptions requests is complete, the list of devices found can be presented to the user in the UI.

Step B: Get App Status

Before launching the app on the device, it is important to know the state of the app on the device. To get the state of the app, once the user selects a device to the launch the app on, send an HTTP GET request to the DIAL REST service with the app name as the resource name. The app name in the request must match the name registered in the DIAL registry.

If the app name is not recognized and the app is not installed, a HTTP 404 error is returned. The user could be presented the option on second-screen device to install the app on the first-screen device from the Appstore, but this functionality is out of scope of the DIAL protocol.

If the HTTP request is successful, the DIAL server responds with a HTTP 200 OK response. The response body contains an attribute that informs the state of the app — hidden (since v2.1), stopped, running, or is installable (note that installable is not currently supported by Fire TV DIAL server).

Step C: Launch the App

Next, launching the first-screen app is as simple as sending a HTTP POST request to the DIAL REST Service with app name as the resource name and any additional payload in the response body to send to the app.

A common use case could be a link to the video or music content to play within the app. The DIAL server launches the app and passes the payload sent by the mobile app. The first-screen app is responsible for handling actions in response to the payload sent from the second-screen app.

As with any app development, care must be taken to clean up and close network connection resources, handle exceptions, launch threads in non-UI blocking threads, and fail gracefully when network operations fail.

Changes to Your Fire TV App

The following sections list changes you must make to your Fire TV app.

Step A: Modify your Android Manifest

There are two changes you must make to your Android manifest (AndroidManifest.xml) to support DIAL:

  • Add a <meta-data> element to <application> that indicates support for Whisperplay and DIAL.
  • Add the DEFAULT category to your launch intent.

In the <application> portion of your manifest, add the following <meta-data> element:

<application ... >
    <meta-data android:name="whisperplay"  android:resource="@xml/whisperplay"/>
    ...
</application>

Next, add the DEFAULT intent category to your primary (main) activity's <intent-filter> element:

    <activity android:name=".MainActivity"
              android:label="@string/title_activity_main" >
        ...
        <intent-filter>
            <action android:name="android.intent.action.MAIN" />
            <category android:name="android.intent.category.LAUNCHER"/>
            <category android:name="android.intent.category.DEFAULT" />
        </intent-filter>
    </activity>

Step B: Add the Whisperplay.xml File

Add a file called Whisperplay.xml to your app's resources, in the res/xml/ directory. The contents of the file should look as follows, where DialAppName is the name of your app in the DIAL registry:

<whisperplay>
    <dial>
        <application>
            <dialid>DialAppName</dialid>
            <startAction>android.intent.action.MAIN</startAction>
        </application>
    </dial>
</whisperplay>

Step C: DIAL Payload Intent

If your app accepts a DIAL payload (information that can be passed to your app via the DIAL launch request), that payload will be delivered as an Intent extra with the value com.amazon.extra.DIAL_PARAM.