定制 System X-Ray 指标


定制 System X-Ray 指标

您可以通过发送要显示的信息来定制 System X-Ray 上显示的指标。您可以使用此功能来显示您认为有用的任何内容,例如静态信息、指标何时跨越不同阈值边界或事件何时发生。

创建自定义指标

System X-Ray 在收到应用广播的意图时显示“应用”部分,其中包含您定义的指标。下面的代码显示了如何为 System X-Ray 创建意图:

private void updateMetrics(Context context) {

// 初始化意图
Intent intent = new Intent("com.amazon.ssm.METRICS_UPDATE");
intent.putExtra("com.amazon.ssm.PACKAGENAME", context.getPackageName());

// 添加指标
intent.putExtra("Metrics1", "First metric");
intent.putExtra("Color1", "green");

intent.putExtra("Metrics2", "Second metric");
intent.putExtra("Color2", "yellow");

intent.putExtra("Metrics3", "Third metric");
intent.putExtra("Color3", "red");

// 发送
context.sendBroadcast(intent);
}

此示例使用 Context 类获取环境所需的资源和类。

使用操作 com.amazon.ssm.METRICS_UPDATE 初始化意图,并添加应用的程序包名称作为额外信息。程序包名称是必需的,因为 System X-Ray 只会在您的应用处于前台时显示“应用”部分。如果您将此代码放在活动中,则可以调用 getPackageName() 帮助程序方法。

指标名称必须是 Metrics1Metrics2Metrics3。任何其他名称都将被忽略。您可以将指标的值设置为所需的任何字符串,但请记住,它可能会被截断。System X-Ray 采用以下格式显示每个指标:[名称]:[值]

指标的默认颜色为灰色。如果您选择更改颜色,则需要向意图添加额外项。额外项名称必须是 Color1Color2Color3。值可以是 redyellowgreenblue。指标名称和颜色名称必须具有相同的编号才能应用颜色。例如,Metrics1 将获得 Color1。颜色值彼此独立 — 您可以拥有多个具有相同颜色的指标。

现在意图已经设置,您可以调用 sendBroadcast(Intent) 方法。如果启用了 System X-Ray,它将添加一个名为应用的部分,并显示意图中定义的指标。如果要更改指标的值或颜色,则必须使用新值或颜色重新创建意图,然后再次发送它。

如果您正在 System X-Ray 中跟踪多个指标,则必须重新发送所有这些指标的状态,即使它们没有全部改变,因为 System X-Ray 不会缓存指标的状态。否则,您不发送的指标将从 System X-Ray 中删除。

自定义指标示例

让我们演示几个此功能用法的示例。

静态信息

如果您在多台 Amazon Fire TV 设备上测试您的应用或使用不同的 WiFi 网络,您可能需要查看您正在测试的 Fire TV 型号,或者 Fire TV 使用的 WiFi 网络 SSID。当您的应用启动时,您可以获取此信息并将其发送到 System X-Ray。以下代码显示了如何显示静态信息的示例:

private void updateMetrics(Context context, String buildModel, String ssid) {
    // 初始化意图
    Intent intent = new Intent("com.amazon.ssm.METRICS_UPDATE");
    intent.putExtra("com.amazon.ssm.PACKAGENAME", context.getPackageName());

    // 添加指标
    intent.putExtra("Metrics1", buildModel);
    intent.putExtra("Metrics2", ssid);

    // 发送
    context.sendBroadcast(intent);
}

下图是来自上述输入的示例显示。在此图片中,System X-Ray 显示 Amazon Fire TV 设备型号为 AFTS,这是第二代 Amazon Fire TV 电视盒。它还显示 Fire TV 连接到来宾网络。

阈值

您可能需要跟踪可跨越不同阈值的指标。例如,假设您的应用具有视频内容,并且您希望在视频播放过程中跟踪丢弃的帧。您可以将 5 次以下丢帧视为绿色,将 5-9 次丢帧视为黄色,将 10 次及以上丢帧视为红色。

当您更新丢弃的帧数时,您可以更改颜色以匹配阈值。以下代码示例演示了如何显示阈值:

private void updateMetrics(Context context, int numFrameDrops, String frameDropStatus) {
    // 初始化意图
    Intent intent = new Intent("com.amazon.ssm.METRICS_UPDATE");
    intent.putExtra("com.amazon.ssm.PACKAGENAME", context.getPackageName());

    // 添加指标
    intent.putExtra("Metrics1", "FrameDrops:"+numFrameDrops);
    intent.putExtra("Color1", frameDropStatus);

    // 发送
    context.sendBroadcast(intent);
}

以下是不同阈值的截图:

事件

事件日志记录很有用,但您可能需要一种可视化的方式来跟踪事件上次发生的时间。例如,测试可能显示在 3 小时的视频播放后引发间歇性异常。以下是如何配置事件的示例:

private void updateMetrics(Context context, String message, String time) {
    // 初始化意图
    Intent intent = new Intent("com.amazon.ssm.METRICS_UPDATE");
    intent.putExtra("com.amazon.ssm.PACKAGENAME", context.getPackageName());

    // 添加指标
    intent.putExtra("Metrics1", message);
    intent.putExtra("Color1", "Red");

    intent.putExtra("Metrics2", "Time:"+time);
    intent.putExtra("Color2", "Red");

    // 发送
    context.sendBroadcast(intent);
}

在下面的屏幕截图中,System X-Ray 显示异常以及异常发生的时间。

另请参阅

有关更多详细信息,请参阅以下内容:

Customize System X-Ray Metrics (Amazon Fire TV)

You can customize the display of metrics on System X-Ray by sending the information you want to be displayed. You can use this feature to display anything you find useful, such as static information, when a metric crosses different threshold boundaries, or when an event occurs.

Create Custom Metrics

System X-Ray displays the App section when it receives an Intent, broadcast by your app, with metrics that you define. The following code shows how to create an intent for System X-Ray:

private void updateMetrics(Context context) {

// Initialize Intent
Intent intent = new Intent("com.amazon.ssm.METRICS_UPDATE");
intent.putExtra("com.amazon.ssm.PACKAGENAME", context.getPackageName());

// Add Metrics
intent.putExtra("Metrics1", "First metric");
intent.putExtra("Color1", "green");

intent.putExtra("Metrics2", "Second metric");
intent.putExtra("Color2", "yellow");

intent.putExtra("Metrics3", "Third metric");
intent.putExtra("Color3", "red");

// Send
context.sendBroadcast(intent);
}

This sample uses the Context class to get the necessary resources and classes for the environment.

Initialize the Intent with the action com.amazon.ssm.METRICS_UPDATE and add the package name of your app as an extra. The package name is required because System X-Ray will only display the App section when your app is in the foreground. If you put this code in an Activity, you can call the getPackageName() helper method.

The metric name must be Metrics1, Metrics2, or Metrics3. Any other name will be ignored. You can set a metric’s value to any String you want, but keep in mind that it may be truncated. System X-Ray displays each metric in the following format: [name]:[value].

A metric’s default color is gray. If you choose to change the color, you will need to add an extra to the Intent. The name of the extra must be Color1, Color2, or Color3. The value can be red, yellow, green, or blue. The metric name and color name must have the same number in order for the color to apply. For example, Metrics1 will get Color1. The color values are independent of each other — you can have more than one metric with the same color.

Now that the Intent is set up, you can call the sendBroadcast(Intent) method. If System X-Ray is enabled, it will add a section called App and display the metrics defined in the Intent. If you want to change the value or color of a metric, you must recreate the Intent with the new value or color and send it again.

If you are tracking multiple metrics in System X-Ray, you must resend the status of all of them, even if they don’t all change, as System X-Ray does not cache a metric’s state. Otherwise, the metrics you don’t send will be removed from System X-Ray.

Examples of Custom Metrics

Let’s walk through a few examples of ways you can use this feature.

Static Information

If you test your app on multiple Amazon Fire TV devices or use different WiFi networks, you might want to see which Fire TV model you are testing, or the SSID of the WiFi network the Fire TV is using. As your app starts up, you could get this information and send it to System X-Ray. The following code shows a sample of how to show static information:

private void updateMetrics(Context context, String buildModel, String ssid) {
    // Initialize Intent
    Intent intent = new Intent("com.amazon.ssm.METRICS_UPDATE");
    intent.putExtra("com.amazon.ssm.PACKAGENAME", context.getPackageName());

    // Add metrics
    intent.putExtra("Metrics1", buildModel);
    intent.putExtra("Metrics2", ssid);

    // Send
    context.sendBroadcast(intent);
}

The following image is an example display from the above input. In this image, System X-Ray shows that the Amazon Fire TV device model is AFTS, which is the 2nd generation Amazon Fire TV box. It also shows that Fire TV is connected to the Guest network.

Thresholds

You might want to track a metric that can cross different thresholds. For example, let’s say your app has video content and you want to track dropped frames during video playback. You might consider less than 5 drops to be green, 5-9 to be yellow, and 10 and higher to be red.

As you update the number of dropped frames, you change the color to match the threshold. The following code sample shows how show a threshold:

private void updateMetrics(Context context, int numFrameDrops, String frameDropStatus) {
    // Initialize Intent
    Intent intent = new Intent("com.amazon.ssm.METRICS_UPDATE");
    intent.putExtra("com.amazon.ssm.PACKAGENAME", context.getPackageName());

    // Add metrics
    intent.putExtra("Metrics1", "FrameDrops:"+numFrameDrops);
    intent.putExtra("Color1", frameDropStatus);

    // Send
    context.sendBroadcast(intent);
}

Here are screenshots of what the different thresholds look like:

Events

Event logging is useful, but you might want a visual way to track when an event last occurred. For example, perhaps testing reveals that an intermittent Exception is thrown after 3 hours of video playback. Here’s a sample of how to configure an event:

private void updateMetrics(Context context, String message, String time) {
    // Initialize Intent
    Intent intent = new Intent("com.amazon.ssm.METRICS_UPDATE");
    intent.putExtra("com.amazon.ssm.PACKAGENAME", context.getPackageName());

    // Add metrics
    intent.putExtra("Metrics1", message);
    intent.putExtra("Color1", "Red");

    intent.putExtra("Metrics2", "Time:"+time);
    intent.putExtra("Color2", "Red");

    // Send
    context.sendBroadcast(intent);
}

In the following screenshot, System X-Ray displays the Exception, along with the time it occurred.

See Also

For more details, see the following: