开发人员控制台

开发Fire TV应用和游戏入门


开发Fire TV应用和游戏入门

开发Fire TV应用时,从各种框架和选项中选择,取决于技能集(Java开发者、Web开发者或内容开发者)、平台首选项(Android或HTML5网页应用)、所需的功能(广告、身份验证等)等。这些信息有助于开始构建应用。

构建Fire TV应用的选项

如需构建Amazon Fire TV应用,下列几个选项可供选择:

  • 自定义Android应用: 构建Fire TV应用的推荐方法是使用Android工具(如Android StudioAndroid frameworks)来构建电视应用。Android文档中的示例代码、文档和指南可帮助您充分利用您的应用。此外,请参阅高级教程为Fire TV构建Android应用。由于Fire TV基于Android系统构建,因此能够在Android系统上运行的大部分应用也可在Fire TV上运行。唯一的区别是服务:对于Fire TV,您需要使用亚马逊服务而不是谷歌服务(请参阅Fire TV开发与Android电视开发有何不同)。此外,您还需要适应三个不同版本的Fire OS

    • Fire OS 5: 基于Android 5.1(Lollipop,API级别22)
    • Fire OS 6: 基于Android 7.1(Nougat,API级别25)
    • Fire OS 7: 基于Android 9(Pie,API级别28)
  • Fire App Builder: Fire App Builder是可靠的开发框架,由亚马逊专门为Fire TV媒体应用而创建。基于Java,并使用Android Studio、Gradle和其他常见的Android开发工具。使用Fire App Builder创建应用时,以通过一系列JSON文件,配置数据动态、屏幕布局和功能的设置。同样,通过简单的配置文件更改,无需Java编码,即可自定义应用的外观和风格。Fire App Builder设计用于帮助创建高质量的媒体应用,无需高级Java编程,但其也可扩展。若您喜欢用Java编码,可在Fire App Builder上构建,以添加更多高级功能。请参阅Fire App Builder: 适用于基于Java的Amazon Fire TV和Android应用的入门工具包了解更多详情。

  • 自定义网页应用: 对于HTML5 Web开发者,可利用Amazon WebView开发应用和游戏。可选择构建HTML5网页应用、使用Fire OS端口的Cordova应用混合应用了解详情

  • 游戏应用: 若正在构建游戏应用,有很多适用于Android系统的第三方开发框架,因此有很多替代方案可供选择。若精通Unity、Cocos2d-x、GameMaker或在移动应用开发者中流行的很多其他系统之一,可非常简单地包装Fire TV游戏。若可生成一个.APK文件,则可能将其安装在Fire TV上。如欲了解详情,请参阅GameMaker教程

在选择恰当的选项时,需考虑技能组合。您是基于Java的Android开发者、HTML5/Web开发者还是内容创建者? 选择符合专业知识和应用要求的方法。

有关开发Amazon Fire TV流媒体应用的电子书

若正开发Fire TV应用,并希望获得高级概述来了解亚马逊的总体情况,请参阅电子书《开发Amazon Fire TV流媒体应用的方法》。本电子书包含设计10英尺UI的最佳实践、有关亚马逊专用工具和模板的信息、有关亚马逊应用商店发布的详细信息等。

Amazon Fire TV的Android应用开发

对于基于Java的Android开发者,Amazon Fire TV使用的工具、IDE和API与用于Android开发的相同。若从零开始构建自己的应用,请参阅以下主题:

对于经验丰富的Android开发者,还可查看在Fire OS上开发的不同之处的列表。

Amazon Fire TV的HTML5网页应用开发

有关构建网页应用的提示,请参阅网页应用入门

Amazon Fire TV应用的API

在构建Amazon Fire TV应用时,还可执行其他Amazon API,提供更强烈的体验:

  • 应用内购买API: 在客户购买Fire TV设备并注册亚马逊账户时,已设置亚马逊付款模板,并已准备好购买应用或应用内商品。Amazon Fire TV和Fire TV Stick支持亚马逊应用内购买API,因此可在应用中提供消费品、永久授权的商品,甚至销售订阅。
  • Amazon Fling开发工具包: 利用Amazon Fling开发工具包,客户可将手机或平板电脑的屏幕直接投放或投射到电视机上。将应用扩展到两个屏幕,利用应用可多人互动。

有关Fire TV API和开发工具包的详情,请参阅应用和游戏服务开发工具包

设备和媒体规格

有关Amazon Fire TV支持的媒体、设备和规格的信息,如视频格式、DRM、编解码器、分辨率等,请参阅Fire TV设备规格。每种设备均有详细的开发者规范。

通常,Fire TV非常灵活,对于各种应用均具有非常好的性能。Fire TV有强大的四核CPU和专用GPU。最新的Amazon Fire TV硬件有2GB RAM和8GB内部存储、支持4K视频输出、支持HDR支持和Dolby Atmos音频。上述特性意味着Fire TV可运行各种应用和游戏,还可很好地处理流媒体。

Amazon Fire TV论坛

如需帮助、有疑问或想分享其他反馈,请使用亚马逊开发者论坛上的Fire TV和Fire TV Stick类别

Developer Console

Getting Started Developing Apps and Games for Fire TV

When developing apps for Fire TV, you can choose from a variety of frameworks and options depending on your skillset (Java developer, web developer, or content developer), your platform preference (Android or HTML5 web app), the features you want (advertising, authentication, etc.), and more. The information here will help you get started in building an app.

Options for Building Fire TV Apps

To build an app for Amazon Fire TV, you have several options:

  • Custom Android App: The recommended way to build a Fire TV app is to use Android tools (like Android Studio and Android frameworks) to build a TV app. Sample code, documentation, and guidelines are available to help you make the most of your apps in the Android documentation. Additionally, see the high-level tutorial Build an Android App for Fire TV. Most apps that work on Android will also work on Fire TV because Fire TV is built on Android. The only difference is with services — for Fire TV, you'll want to use Amazon services instead of Google services (see How Fire TV Development Differs from Android TV Development). Additionally, you'll need to accommodate three different versions of Fire OS:

    • Fire OS 5: Based on Android 5.1 (Lollipop, API level 22)
    • Fire OS 6: Based on Android 7.1 (Nougat, API level 25)
    • Fire OS 7: Based on Android 9 (Pie, API level 28)
  • Fire App Builder: Fire App Builder is a robust development framework created by Amazon specifically for producing Fire TV media apps. It is based on Java and uses Android Studio, Gradle, and other tools common to Android development. When you create an app with Fire App Builder, you configure the settings for your data feed, screen layouts, and functionality through a series of JSON files. Similarly, simple config file changes allow you to customize the look and feel of your app with no Java coding. Fire App Builder is designed to help you create high-quality media apps without advanced Java programming, but it is also extensible. If you are comfortable coding in Java, you are free to build on top of Fire App Builder to add more advanced features. See Fire App Builder: A Starter Kit for Java-based Amazon Fire TV and Android Apps for more details.

  • Custom Web App: If you're an HTML5 web developer, you can leverage the Amazon WebView to develop apps and games. You have the option to build HTML5 web apps, Cordova apps using the Fire OS port, or hybrid apps. Learn more.

  • Game App: If you're building a game app, there are many third-party development frameworks that work with Android, so you have lots of alternatives to choose from. If you are proficient using Unity, Cocos2d-x, GameMaker, or one of the many other systems popular among mobile app developers, you will find it straightforward to package your game for Fire TV. If you can produce an .APK file, you can probably install it on Fire TV. To learn more, see these Gamemaker Tutorials.

In choosing the right option, consider your skill set. Are you Java-based Android developer, an HTML5/web developer, or a content creator? Choose an approach that aligns with your expertise and app requirements.

eBook on Developing Streaming Media Apps for Amazon Fire TV

If you're developing an app for Fire TV and want a high-level overview to help you navigate the Amazon landscape, see the eBook How to Develop Media Streaming Apps for Amazon Fire TV. This eBook contains best practices for designing for a 10-foot UI, information on Amazon’s dedicated tools and templates, details on publishing to the Amazon Appstore, and more.

Android App Development for Amazon Fire TV

For Java-based Android developers, Amazon Fire TV uses the same tools, IDEs, and APIs you're already used to for Android development. If you're building your own app from scratch, see these topics:

If you're an experienced Android developer, also check out this list of what's different about developing on Fire OS.

HTML5 Web App Development for Amazon Fire TV

See Getting Started with Web Apps for tips on building a web app.

APIs for Your Amazon Fire TV App

When you build your Amazon Fire TV app, you can also implement other Amazon APIs to provide a more robust experience:

  • In-App Purchasing API: When customers buy Fire TV devices and register with their Amazon accounts, they are already set up with their Amazon payment profiles and are ready to purchase apps or in-app items with no further effort. Amazon Fire TV and Fire TV Stick support the Amazon In-App Purchasing API, so you can offer consumable items, permanently entitled items, and even subscriptions for sale in your app.
  • Amazon Fling SDK: The Amazon Fling SDK allows customers to fling or cast the screen that appears on their phone or tablet directly onto their television. Extending apps to two screens allows more than one person to engage with your app.

To see more Fire TV APIs and SDKs, see Apps & Games Services SDKs.

Device and Media Specifications

If you're looking for information about the media, device, and specifications Amazon Fire TV supports, such as video formats, DRM, codecs, resolution rates, and more, see Fire TV Device Specifications. Detailed developer specifications are available for each device.

In general, Fire TV is flexible and provides high performance across a wide range of applications. It has a powerful quad-core CPU and a dedicated GPU. The hardware on the latest Amazon Fire TV offers 2GB RAM, 8GB internal storage, support for 4K video output, support for HDR, and Dolby Atmos audio. These features mean that Fire TV has the muscle to run all sorts of apps and games—streaming media is just one more thing it handles well.

Amazon Fire TV Forums

If you need help, have a question, or want to share other feedback, use the Fire TV and Fire TV Stick categories on the Amazon Developer Forum.