开发人员控制台

设备筛选和兼容性


设备筛选和兼容性

当提交APK文件到应用商店时,应用清单中的属性决定您的应用可以安装到什么设备上。清单与设备功能之间的不兼容,会使得该设备不支持提交的APK文件。以下各节介绍一些影响设备支持的筛选条件。您也可以手动编辑应用支持的设备。

背景知识

由于亚马逊的Fire OS基于Android系统,亚马逊将尽可能与Android开发保持一致。因此,该文档不会重复Android文档中的信息,而是会介绍与亚马逊Fire OS的不同之处。为了更好地理解此处的概念,请参考以下基础的Android文档主题:

知晓一些常用术语也有所帮助。

有关更多术语表定义,请参阅应用提交术语表

由APK清单确定的设备兼容性

就如标准Android实践一样,APK清单和build.gradle文件中的属性决定哪些设备与应用兼容。例如:

  • 如果您在应用清单中设置minSdkVersion=4smallScreens=false,则亚马逊应用商店会阻止应用安装到任何不支持这些要求的设备上。 
  • 如果您的清单中声明要求相机功能(<uses-feature android:name="android.hardware.camera" />),则只兼容有相机功能的设备。使用不兼容设备的客户将无法安装该应用。

亚马逊应用商店根据APK清单中的筛选条件,检查客户设备的硬件和软件要求,以及运营商、位置和其他特性。亚马逊还会检查应用元数据(在发布应用时选择)中指定的地理位置可用性要求。

根据筛选规则,如果您的应用与设备兼容,则会向客户提供该应用。如果应用不兼容,则会在该客户设备的搜索结果和类别浏览中隐藏您的应用。

下表示出了筛选条件示例: 

筛选类型 示例
基于设备兼容性的筛选 如果您在应用清单中声明应用需要GPS,亚马逊应用商店只向支持GPS的设备显示该应用。
基于应用可用性的筛选 如果您在开发者门户中声明您的应用只能在北美地区提供,则亚马逊应用商店不会向非北美地区的设备显示该应用。

有关支持的清单筛选条件的完整列表,请参阅亚马逊应用商店支持的筛选条件

除了支持亚马逊设备之外,亚马逊应用商店还可以按照相同的筛选逻辑,向非亚马逊设备提供您的应用。通过Android应用的亚马逊应用商店,客户可以将应用安装到其Android设备上。(如果客户从亚马逊应用商店已购买了某个应用,且不希望从Google Play再次购买,或者如果客户拥有从亚马逊购买的虚拟货币或订阅,并且想要在其他设备上的同一应用中使用它们,那么这一点可能很重要。)

亚马逊和Android API级别

Fire设备使用Fire OS作为操作系统。由于Fire OS是Android的自定义版本,每个Fire OS版本对应一个单独的Android API级别。因此,创建应用清单的第一步是在android:minSdkVersion属性中为所要定向的Fire设备指定正确的Android API级别。

有关各种亚马逊Fire设备的Android和亚马逊API级别,请参阅平板电脑设备规格Fire TV设备规格。例如,要定向到所有2013年及之后的平板电脑,您的清单应该包含如下条目:

<uses-sdk android:minSdkVersion="17" />

就如Android设备一样,并非所有Fire设备都具有相同的API级别。例如,一些Fire TV运行在基于Android API级别25的Fire OS 6上。其他一些设备运行在基于API级别22的Fire OS 5上。Fire平板电脑甚至具有更多不同的API级别。有关Fire OS版本和功能的详细信息,请参阅以下主题。

请注意以下事项:

  • 设备的Android API级别随着部署的Fire OS更新而变。例如,2014年的Fire平板电脑运行Fire OS 4.5,Android API级别为19。当这些设备运行的系统通过无线方式(OTA)更新到Fire OS 5.0时,Android API级别将更新为22。如果您的APK与Fire OS的两个版本均兼容(多数情况下如此),在清单的<uses-sdk>元素中,将您的minSdkVersion设置为设备支持的最低API级别,以确保与设备的最大兼容性。(如果将minSdkVersion设置为22,则仅支持级别19及更低级别的设备将不兼容。)
  • 亚马逊应用商店还支持android:maxSdkVersion属性,但该属性仅用于确定应用是否在特定设备上可用。当用户将其Fire OS更新为更高版本时,无任何影响。大多数情况下,除非更高的API级别破坏了兼容性,否则无需使用此属性。

常见硬件和软件功能

在您指定minSdkVersion之后,请确保<uses-permission><uses-features>元素适用于您的应用所要兼容的设备。有关特定硬件和软件功能,请参阅Fire平板电脑Fire TV规格。

隐含功能

许多开发者会在隐含功能上犯错误。根据Android的<uses-feature>文档,为特定功能指定<uses-permission>隐含一个或多个<uses-feature>元素(假设android:required="true")。由于隐含功能是必需的,APK会被认为与任何不提供这些功能的设备都不兼容,即使设计了该应用在功能不存在时能够优雅降级。

假设如下场景: 您的应用使用设备的当前位置来查找附近的加油站。该应用可以从设备的GPS获取当前位置,但是如果GPS不可用,用户可以输入地址或位置。要使用GPS,您应该在清单中包含以下元素:

<uses-permission android:name="android.permission.ACCESS_FINE_LOCATION" />

但是,如果您没有明确定义功能要求,则会隐式地定义以下元素:

<uses-feature android:name="android.hardware.location" android:required="true" />
<uses-feature android:name="android.hardware.location.gps" android:required="true" />

如果您随后在亚马逊应用商店提供此APK,则只兼容WAN型号的Fire平板电脑,因为只有这些型号的Fire设备才具备GPS功能。要兼容其他Fire设备,您应在清单中包含这些元素,但应将它们指定为非必需元素(前提是您的应用在没有GPS时可正常工作):

<uses-feature android:name="android.hardware.location" android:required="false" />
<uses-feature android:name="android.hardware.location.gps" android:required="false" />

有关会导致隐含功能的完整权限列表,请参阅隐含功能请求的权限

Fire TV筛选

对于Fire TV,以下清单属性将标识对Fire TV的支持:

  <uses-feature android:name="android.hardware.touchscreen" android:required="false" />

为什么是这个属性? Fire TV不支持触摸屏和多点触控功能,但手机和平板电脑支持。

上传为Fire TV设计的APK时,您仍可手动调整APK所兼容的设备。有关详细信息,请参阅调整APK的设备支持

网页应用的设备筛选

虽然基于Android清单的设备筛选不可用于网页应用,但在提交过程中,您仍可以通过复选框列表来控制支持的设备。对于网页应用,即使您向网站提交URL或包含web文件的ZIP包,在提交过程中,亚马逊应用商店仍然会获取网页应用并使用Corodva引擎生成Android应用。最后,它是一款可在用户设备上下载和安装的Android应用。

网页应用与所有设备兼容,因为就Android API而言,它们是非常基础的——有一个带加载了Web文件或URL的WebView的活动,API级别设置为10以获得尽可能广泛的兼容性。

指定应用的安装位置

您的Android清单文件指定了应用在Fire设备上的安装位置。对于大多数应用,将此值设置为外部存储(preferExternal)可以为应用用户提供更好的体验,因为这会减少客户由于设备的内部存储已满而无法安装应用的情况。有关更多信息,请参阅指定应用的安装位置

从应用清单中删除uses-amzn-sdk

如果您的应用清单中包含<uses-amzn-sdk>标签,请删除该标签。此标签与旧的Fire OS开发工具包附加程序相关,不再用于Fire TV上的应用。

尽管您的应用在清单中存在此标签时(通常)仍能工作,但删除它将避免将来出现任何不兼容。开发Fire设备的应用时,无需使用旧的Fire OS开发工具包附加程序的任何组件。不过,请使用标准Android API亚马逊应用和游戏服务开发工具包

上传APK

有关将您的APK上传到亚马逊应用商店的具体详情,请按照步骤7,选项1操作: 上传APK文件

同一个应用的多个APK

虽然您可以在一个APK中支持不同的设备(例如,通过在运行时检查权限并在该设备不支持该功能时优雅降级),但为同一应用列表构建多个APK可能会更容易。每个APK可以适应不同设备的不同软件或硬件功能及组件。

多个APK容纳的设备差异可能包括API级别、OpenGL压缩格式、CPU、屏幕尺寸和屏幕像素密度、设备功能,甚至其他因素,例如地理区域设置。例如,您可能想要一个用于Fire平板电脑的APK,一个用于Fire TV的单独APK,以及一个用于非亚马逊Android设备的APK。因此,亚马逊应用商店允许您为同一个应用上传多个APK。

无论您上传了多少个APK,用户在应用商店中只会看到一个应用。下载的APK取决于用户的设备。例如,假设您有一个名为“Stream Sports Everywhere”的应用。 您希望该应用能够无缝在手机、平板电脑和TV上工作。但是,您发现所有这些设备很难使用单个APK。因此,您决定创建两个APK,一个用于手机/平板电脑,另一个用于TV。

在应用商店中,用户只会看到一个“Stream Sports Everywhere”应用。用户从TV设备安装该应用时,将安装为TV创建的APK。用户从手机或平板电脑安装该应用时,将安装为手机和平板电脑创建的APK。

如果该应用收费,客户在其他设备上不会收到重新购买相同应用的提示,因该客户已购买该应用。客户只需购买一次您的应用,就会针对他们使用的每台设备自动提供正确的、经过优化的版本。增强客户为其设备购买正确应用的信心,将增强您的应用品牌流传度、建立客户信任和忠诚度,并降低您目录的分散性。

此外,应用的报告、指标和评审将整合到与应用相关的所有APK中。此整合可以改进应用的搜索和相关性排名。

针对多个APK的要求

当您为同一个应用提交多个APK时,请务必执行以下操作:

1.为每个APK指定唯一版本代码。

versionCode是一个内部编号方案,不向用户显示。(仅向用户显示versionName。) 版本代码是您选择的单个整数,例如11254versionCode(以及versionName)在应用的build.gradle文件中指定。有关详细信息,请参阅指定应用版本

versionCode用于表示应用的后续版本。如果您有多个APK并发布了更新,versionCode还可确定设备是否接收了更新的APK。versionCode数字越高表示版本越新。只有当更新后APK的versionCode高于现有设备APK的versionCode时,与APK兼容的设备才会收到应用更新。

例如,假设您的一个应用有两个APK:APK “Ham”的versionCode为10,APK “Eggs”的versionCode为20。客户有一个设备安装了"Eggs"。在对APK的更新中,您决定删除Eggs并仅使用Ham,即定向到带有Ham的所有设备。如果您将Ham的versionCode增加到11,已经安装了Eggs的客户不会收到更新,因为Eggs具有更高的versionCode。因此,您需要在提交更新之前将versionCode设置为21或更高。

2.为同一应用列表中的每个APK使用相同的程序包名称。

在清单中,同一应用列表中的每个APK必须使用相同的程序包名称。有关详细信息,请参阅程序包

在应用商店中,使用程序包名称来标识各个应用。每个应用的程序包名称必须唯一,并且因为目录集成,程序包名称不能包含amazon字样。

造成APK失败的一个常见原因是不同应用程序包名称重复(并非因为针对同一应用列表上传了多个APK)。不同的应用必须具有不同的程序包名称。但是,如果您的同一个应用具有多个APK,则每个APK必须使用相同的程序包名称。此外,当您提交APK的新版本时,程序包名称必须保持不变。

多个APK的versionCode示例

让我们来看多个APK的程序包名称和versionCode的示例。假设您为同一个应用构建了单独的APK,一个APK用于Fire平板电脑,一个APK用于亚马逊Fire TV。第一个APK的清单属性可能如下:

<manifest xmlns:android="http://schemas.android.com/apk/res/android"
    package="com.mycompany.myapp"
                ...
</manifest>

APK的build.gradle文件可能如下:

...
    defaultConfig {
        minSdkVersion 19
        targetSdkVersion 23
        versionCode 13
        versionName "1.0.6"
        ...
    }

第二个APK的清单可能如下:

<manifest xmlns:android="http://schemas.android.com/apk/res/android"
    package="com.mycompany.myapp"
                ...
</manifest>

应用的build.gradle文件可能如下:

...
    defaultConfig {
        minSdkVersion 22
        targetSdkVersion 23
        versionCode 14
        versionName "1.0.6"
        ...
    }

请注意,这两个APK的唯一区别在于versionCode,在某些情况下,区别还包括minSdkVersion。程序包名称保持不变。各应用的清单和build.gradle文件可能在其他方面有所不同(例如,声明不同的功能或意图),但程序包名称应保持不变,而每个versionCode使用唯一值。

(应用商店不执行确保APK彼此之间有足够差异的逻辑检查。)

亚马逊对多个APK的支持方式与Google Play的不同之处

亚马逊上的多个APK有一个不同之处(与Google Play相比),那就是当您上传多个APK时,您需要在亚马逊应用商店中手动为各个APK选择支持的设备。

例如,假设多个APK与同一个设备兼容。亚马逊不会基于Google Play所用的逻辑(自动选择设备支持的最高API级别,或者通过较高的versionCode确定支持的设备)自动选择支持的设备。

相反,在亚马逊应用商店中,在您上传了第一个APK之后,您会看到根据筛选逻辑自动选择的支持设备。想要第二个APK支持不同设备,您必须从第一个APK中手动删除支持的设备。然后在上传第二个APK之后,您可以选择第二个APK要支持的设备。应用商店不会让您的多个APK支持同一个设备。(这个思路与Google Play相同,也就是每台设备一个APK,但是在亚马逊上选择过程是手动的。)

当设备不可用于第二个APK时

请注意,许多开发者经常对这一点感到疑惑。开发者上传第二个APK后发现所有设备不兼容,或者无法选择任何设备。这是因为他们已经为这些设备选择了第一个APK,因此需要在第一个APK上取消选择这些设备,以使这些设备可用于第二个APK。

Device Filtering and Compatibility

When you submit your APK into the Appstore, the attributes in your app manifest determine what devices your app can be installed on. Incompatibilities between your manifest and a device’s capabilities will prevent the APK file from being supported on that device. The sections that follow explain some of the filters that influence support for devices. You can also manually edit the supported devices for your app.

Background Knowledge

Because Amazon's Fire OS is based on Android, Amazon tries to maintain as much parity with Android development as possible. Because of this, the documentation here doesn't duplicate the information in the Android documentation; instead, it covers how Amazon and Fire OS differs. For a better understanding of the concepts here, consult these foundational Android documentation topics:

It will also help to understand some common terms.

For more glossary definitions, see the App Submission Glossary.

Device Compatibility Determined by Your APK's Manifest

As with standard Android practices, the attributes in your APK's manifest and build.gradle file determine which devices are compatible with your app. For example:

  • If you set minSdkVersion=4 and smallScreens=false in the app manifest, the Amazon Appstore prevents the app from being installed on any device that doesn't support those requirements. 
  • If your manifest declares a requirement for a camera feature (<uses-feature android:name="android.hardware.camera" />), any device that does not have a camera won't be compatible. Customers with incompatible devices will not see the app as available to be installed.

Using the filters in your APK's manifest, Amazon Appstore checks the hardware and software requirements for the customer's device as well as the carrier, location, and other characteristics. Amazon also looks at the geographic location availability requirements as specified in your app's metadata (which you select when publishing your app).

If your app is compatible with the device according to the filter rules, your app is made available to the customer. If the app is incompatible, your app is hidden from search results and category browsing for that customer's device.

The following table shows examples of filters: 

Filter Type Example
Filtering based on device compatibility If you state in the app manifest that the app requires GPS, the Amazon Appstore does not show the app to devices that do not have a GPS.
Filtering based on app availability If you state in the Developer Portal that your app should only be available in North America, the Amazon Appstore does not show the app to devices outside North America.

For a full list of supported manifest filters, see Supported Filters on the Amazon Appstore.

In addition to supporting Amazon devices, the Amazon Appstore can also make your app available to non-Amazon devices, using the same filtering logic. Through the Amazon Appstore for Android app, customers can install your app onto their Android devices. (This might be important if customers already purchased the app from Amazon Appstore and don't want to buy it again from Google Play, or if they have coins or subscriptions they purchased from Amazon and want to use them in the same app on other devices.)

Amazon and Android API Levels

Fire devices use Fire OS as the operating system. Since Fire OS is a custom version of Android, each Fire OS version corresponds to a single Android API level. Therefore, the first step in creating your app manifest is to specify the proper Android API level in the android:minSdkVersion attribute for the Fire devices you intend to target.

See the Tablet Specifications and Fire TV Specifications for the Android and Amazon API levels for various Amazon Fire devices. For example, to target all 2013 and newer tablets, your manifest should contain an entry like this:

<uses-sdk android:minSdkVersion="17" />

As with Android devices, not all Fire devices have the same API level. For example, some Fire TV devices run on Fire OS 6, which is based on Android API level 25. Others run on Fire OS 5, based on API level 22. Fire tablets have even more variety of API levels. See the following topics for details about the Fire OS version and features:

Note the following:

  • Android API levels for devices change over time as Fire OS updates are deployed. For example, 2014 Fire tablets run Fire OS 4.5, at Android API level 19. When these devices are updated to Fire OS 5.0 (through an over-the-air or "OTA" update process), the Android API level will update to 22. If your APK is compatible with both versions of Fire OS (most are), in the <uses-sdk> element in your manifest, set your minSdkVersion to the lowest API level your device supports in order to ensure maximum compatibility with devices. (If you set the minSdkVersion to 22, devices that support only level 19 and lower won't be compatible.)
  • The Amazon Appstore also supports the android:maxSdkVersion attribute but only when determining if the app should be available on a specific device. It has no effect when the user updates their Fire OS to a later version. In most cases, use of this attribute is not needed unless there is a breaking incompatibility with a higher API level.

Common Hardware and Software Capabilities

After you specify the minSdkVersion, make sure your <uses-permission> and <uses-features> elements are appropriate for the devices you want your app to be compatible with. Refer to specifications for Fire Tablets and Fire TV for specific hardware and software capabilities.

Implied Features

Many developers are tripped up by implied features. Per the Android <uses-feature> documentation, specifying <uses-permission> for certain capabilities implies one or more <uses-feature> elements, with android:required="true" assumed. Because the implied features are required, the APK is deemed not compatible with any device that does not provide those features, even if the app is designed to degrade gracefully when features aren’t present.

Consider this scenario: Your app uses the device’s current location to find nearby gas stations. The app can get your current location from the device's GPS, but if GPS is not available, the user can input an address or location. To use the GPS, you should include this element in your manifest:

<uses-permission android:name="android.permission.ACCESS_FINE_LOCATION" />

However, if you don’t explicitly define the feature requirements, these elements are implicitly defined:

<uses-feature android:name="android.hardware.location" android:required="true" />
<uses-feature android:name="android.hardware.location.gps" android:required="true" />

If you then provide this APK to the Amazon Appstore, only WAN models of Fire tablets would be compatible, since these are the only Fire devices with GPS capabilities. To be compatible with additional Fire devices, you should include these elements in your manifest but specify them as not required (provided your app functions correctly without GPS):

<uses-feature android:name="android.hardware.location" android:required="false" />
<uses-feature android:name="android.hardware.location.gps" android:required="false" />

For a full list of permissions that cause implied features, see Permissions that Imply Feature Requests.

Device Filtering for Fire TV Devices

For Fire TV devices, the following manifest attribute will identify support for Fire TV:

  <uses-feature android:name="android.hardware.touchscreen" android:required="false" />

Why this attribute? Fire TV devices do not support touchscreens and multi-touch capabilities, whereas phones and tablets do.

When you upload an APK designed for Fire TV devices, you can still manually adjust which devices your APK is compatible with. See Adjust Device Support for your APK for details.

Device Filtering for Web Apps

Although device filtering based on your Android manifest is not available for web apps, you can still control the supported devices through a list of check boxes during the submission process. With web apps, even though you submit a URL to a website or a ZIP package with web files, during the submission process, the Amazon Appstore takes the web app and generates an Android app using the Corodva engine. In the end, it's an Android app that users download and install on their devices.

Web apps are compatible with all devices because in terms of Android APIs, they are very basic — there's one activity with a WebView into which web files or a URL is loaded, and the API level is set to 10 to gain the widest compatibility possible.

Specifying an Installation Location for Your App

Your Android Manifest file specifies the installation location for your app on Fire devices. For most apps, setting this value to External Storage (preferExternal) will provide a better experience for your app's users, as it will reduce scenarios where customers can't install your app because their device's internal storage is full. For more information, see Specifying the Installation Location for Your App.

Remove uses-amzn-sdk from App Manifest

If you have the following tag in your app's manifest, <uses-amzn-sdk>, remove it. This tag relates to the old Fire OS SDK add-on and is no longer used for apps on Fire TV.

Although your app will (usually) still work with this tag in your manifest, removing it will avoid any future incompatibilities. None of the components of the old Fire OS SDK add-on are required to develop apps for Fire devices. Instead, use standard Android APIs and the Amazon Apps & Games Services SDKs.

Upload your APK

For specific details on how to upload your APK into Amazon's Appstore, follow the instructions in Step 7, Option 1: Upload APK Files.

Multiple APKs for the Same Application Listing

Although you can support different devices within a single APK (such as by checking for the permissions at runtime and degrading gracefully if the device doesn't support the feature), it may be easier for you to build multiple APKs for the same application listing. Each APK can accommodate different software or hardware features and components for different devices.

The device differences accommodated by multiple APKs might include the API level, OpenGL compression format, CPU, screen size and density, device features, or even other factors such as geographic locales. For example, you might want an APK for Fire tablets, a separate APK for Fire TV, and another APK for non-Amazon Android devices. For this reason, the Amazon Appstore lets you upload more than one APK for the same app.

No matter how many APKs you upload, the user sees just one app in the Appstore. The APK that gets downloaded depends on the user's device. For example, suppose you have an app called "Stream Sports Everywhere." You want the app to work seamlessly across phones, tablets, and TVs. However, you find it difficult to use a single APK for all of these devices. As such, you decide to create two APKs — one for phones/tablets, and one for TVs.

In the Appstore, the user sees just one "Stream Sports Everywhere" app. When the user installs the app from a TV device, the APK designed for TVs gets installed. When the user installs the app from a phone or tablet, the APK designed for phones and tablets gets installed.

If you charge for your app, the customer won't be prompted to re-purchase the same app on other devices because the user has already purchased the app. Customers only have to buy your app once, and the correct, optimized version will automatically be delivered for each device they use. Increasing a customer’s confidence around the correct app purchasing decision for their devices will enhance your app brand messaging, build customer trust and loyalty, and decrease your catalog fragmentation.

Additionally, reporting, metrics, and reviews are consolidated for the app across all the APKs associated with the app. This consolidation improves the search and relevancy rankings for your app.

Requirements for Multiple APKs

When you submit multiple APKs for the same app, be sure to do the following:

1. Give each APK a unique version code.

The versionCode is an internal numbering scheme not displayed to users. (Only the versionName is shown to users.) Version codes are single integers you choose, for example, 1 or 1254. The versionCode (and versionName) are specified in your app's build.gradle file. See Version Your App for details.

The versionCode is used to indicate successive versions of your app. When you have multiple APKs and publish an update, the versionCode also determines whether the device receives the updated APK. Higher versionCode numbers indicate newer versions. Devices compatible with the APK will receive an app update only if the versionCode in the updated APK is higher than the existing device APK's versionCode.

For example, suppose you have one app with two APKs — APK "Ham" with versionCode 10 and APK "Eggs" with versionCode 20. A customer has a device with "Eggs" installed. In an update to your APKs, you decide to remove "Eggs" and use "Ham" exclusively, targeting all devices with it. If you increment Ham's versionCode to 11, customers with Eggs already installed won't receive the update because Eggs has a higher versionCode. Therefore you will need to set your versionCode to 21 or higher before submitting an update.

2. Use the same package name for each APK within the same application listing.

Each APK for the same application listing must use the same package name in the manifest. See package for details.

Every app in the Appstore is identified by its package name. Each app's package name must be unique, and for catalog integration, the package name cannot include the term amazon.

A common reason APKs fail is due to duplicate package names for different apps (not for multiple APKs uploaded for the same application listing). Different apps must have different package names. However, when you have multiple APKs for the same app, each APK must use the same package name. Additionally, when you submit new versions of the APKs, the package names must remain the same.

Example of versionCode with Multiple APKs

Let's walk through an example of package names and versionCode with multiple APKs. Suppose that, for the same app, you're building separate APKs — one APK for Fire tablets and one APK for Amazon Fire TV devices. The attributes for your first APK's manifest might look like this:

<manifest xmlns:android="http://schemas.android.com/apk/res/android"
    package="com.mycompany.myapp"
                ...
</manifest>

And the APK's build.gradle file:

...
    defaultConfig {
        minSdkVersion 19
        targetSdkVersion 23
        versionCode 13
        versionName "1.0.6"
        ...
    }

The manifest for the second APK might look as follows:

<manifest xmlns:android="http://schemas.android.com/apk/res/android"
    package="com.mycompany.myapp"
                ...
</manifest>

And your app's build.gradle file:

...
    defaultConfig {
        minSdkVersion 22
        targetSdkVersion 23
        versionCode 14
        versionName "1.0.6"
        ...
    }

Note that the only difference is the versionCode and, for some variety, the minSdkVersion. The package name remains the same. The manifest and build.gradle file for each app may differ in other ways (declaring different features or intents, for example), but the package names should remain the same while each versionCode uses a unique value.

(The Appstore does not perform logic checks to ensure the APKs are sufficiently different from each other.)

How Multiple APK Support on Amazon Differs from Google Play

One way multiple APKs differ on Amazon (versus Google Play), is that with the Amazon Appstore, when you upload multiple APKs, you manually select the supported devices for each APK.

For example, suppose more than one APK is compatible for the same device. The supported devices are not automatically selected based on the same logic that Google Play uses (where the highest supported API level for the device is automatically selected, or where a higher versionCode determines the device support).

Instead, with Amazon's Appstore, after you upload the first APK, you will see the supported devices automatically selected based on the filtering logic. If you want to support different devices with a second APK, you must manually remove the supported devices from the first APK. Then after you upload the second APK, you can select the devices you want to support with the second APK. The Appstore won't let you support the same device with multiple APKs. (The concept is the same as with Google Play — one APK per device — but the selection process for this on Amazon is manual).

When devices are unavailable for the second APK

Note that many developers often experience confusion around this point. They upload the second APK and see all devices as incompatible, or they cannot select any of the devices. The reason is because those devices are already selected for the first APK, so they need to deselect the devices in the first APK to make them available in the second.