Amazon Developer

as

Settings
Sign out
Notifications
Alexa
Amazon Appstore
Ring
AWS
Documentation
Support
Contact Us
My Cases
Get started
Connect with Matter
Alexa Connect Kit
Add-ons
Certify
Resources
Skip to main content
Before you can prototype with the Alexa Connect Kit (ACK) development kit, you must set up your development environment. This includes completing the following steps:
  • Register for an Amazon Developer account.
  • Install the Alexa app to register your device.
  • Install Python 3.
  • Install and configure the Arduino IDE.
  • Download the ACK Device SDK.

Hardware prerequisites

You must meet the following hardware prerequisites to set up your development environment.
  • A computer with a USB port and a micro-USB cable – To connect the development kit boards to your computer.
  • 2.4-GHz Wi-Fi network – To register and connect the ACK module.
  • An additional micro-USB cable (optional) - To debug the development board and update the ACK module firmware.

Step 3.1: Create an Amazon developer account

To access the ACK console, you need an Amazon developer account.

Step 3.2: Install the Alexa app

You need the Alexa app on your mobile device to scan the barcode that comes with the Development Kit and register your development device with ACK managed services and connect to Alexa. After the setup is complete, you can use the Alexa app to control your development device. The following are the minimum versions of the Alexa app required for controlling an ACK development device:
  • Android – 2.2.314100.0
  • iOS – 2.2.3153270.0
To verify your Alexa app version
  1. Open the Alexa app and log in.
  2. Open the Menu and navigate to > Settings > General > About.
  3. Verify that you have the correct minimum version of the Alexa app on your mobile device.
  4. If you don’t have the required minimum version of the app, follow the instructions to download the Alexa app.

Step 3.3: Install Python 3

You need Python 3.6.0 or later to run the setup.py script that comes with the ACK Device SDK. The setup script configures the Arduino IDE to access the ACK Device SDK source code. Verify that you have Python 3.6.0 or later installed; otherwise, install it. To install Python
Most macOS computers come with Python already installed, but you should verify which version you have. Open a terminal window and then run the following command:python -VIf an earlier version of Python appears, or if you don’t get a response to the command, download and install Python 3.6.0 or later. After you install it, run the following command:python3 -VThe version of Python that you installed appears, similar to the following:Python 3.7.4

Step 3.4: Install and configure the Arduino IDE

To install and configure the Arduino Software (IDE)
  1. On the Arduino Software page, under Download the Arduino IDE, select the appropriate installer.
  2. Launch the Arduino IDE.
  3. Choose the Arduino Zero board and the Programming Port in the IDE:
    1. Open the Board manager by going to Tools > Board > Boards Manager.
    2. Find the Arduino SAMD Boards (32-bits ARM Cortex-M0+) package, version 1.6.18 or later, and install it.
    3. Verify that the USB cable is connected from the Arduino Programming Port to your machine.
    4. Select Tools > Arduino SAMD Boards (32-bits ARM Cortex-M0+) Boards > Arduino Zero (Programming Port).
    5. Select the Arduino Programming Port serial connection:
      In the Arduino IDE, select your serial port from the Tools > Port menu. On macOS it should be something like /dev/cu.usbmodem xxxxx (Arduino/Genuino Zero (Programming Port)).Tools > Port > /dev/cu.usbmodem 14302 (Arduino/Genuino Zero (Programming Port)).If you don’t know the name of your serial port, open the Terminal application and run the following command:

Step 3.5: Download the ACK Device SDK and run the setup script

Download the ACK Device SDK and run the setup script to make the SDK source code and sample apps available in the Arduino IDE.
  1. Download the ACK Device SDK version 4.0 or later from the resources page of the ACK developer console.
  2. Unzip the file.
  3. Change directories into the unzipped folder, and use setup.py in user/platform/arduino to add the sample apps to the Arduino IDE example library.
    Change directories into the unzipped <ack-device-sdk>/user/platform/arduino directory. Replace /Users/username/Downloads with the path to your download location.
    Run the script:
    You might see the following permission denied message:
    If so, specify that it’s an executable program:
    Now run your program:
    To view the helper commands available for setup.py, include the following --help argumentpython3 ./setup.py --help
  4. Restart the Arduino IDE application to pick up the ACK sample applications, shown as examples in the Arduino IDE. You should now see the custom examples available in the File > Examples > Examples from Custom Libraries menu.

Troubleshoot the setup.py script

When you run the setup.py script, you might see the message Arduino documents directory ‘C:\users\xxx\Arduino\documents’ not found. This can happen if you have a non-standard installation of the Arduino IDE, or if other software on your computer altered the environment variables, so that setup.py is unable to find the Arduino documents directory. If this happens, use the --targetroot option to tell setup.py where the Arduino documents directory is. Verify the location of your Arduino documents folder in the Arduino IDE by going to Settings and viewing the Sketchbook location. The Sketchbook location is the Arduino Documents folder. Run the setup script with the --targetroot option as following:
For more troubleshooting, see Troubleshoot the Development Kit.
Last modified on August 20, 2025