Amazon has improved the process for updating your app’s binary APK files, making it easier than ever. Updating one binary used to mean updating all of your app’s binary APK files. Now your binaries can be updated independently. Have an update that only applies to certain devices? Now you can just update the binaries that target those devices, and leave the others alone. Adding support for a new device? You can simply add the new binary, without modifying the existing files.
What’s New with Binary Management?
Key changes to the binary submission workflow that you need to be aware of:
- You provide new binaries only for devices that need updates, or for new device support.
- App updates will only be sent to customer devices targeted by new or updated binaries.
- Binaries for an app no longer need to have the same value for the android:versionName manifest attribute.
- You can now delete an upcoming app version. You may want to do this if you started an upcoming version in the past, and are being prompted for new files for existing binaries.
Updating Individual Binaries
When you begin to create a new version of your app, the existing binaries are carried over from the old version. From there, you can add new binaries or delete old binaries and replace them with updated versions. To delete the old version of a binary, click the X icon next to the APK file name.
After deleting the old version of a binary, simply drag the updated APK onto the Upload Binary box.
Refer to Updating Binary APKs for a Published App, for more detailed instructions.
NOTE: In some cases, you may want to provide a new binary that supports some, but not all, previously targeted devices. In these cases, you should first edit the existing binary’s metadata, deselecting those devices supported by the new binary. Next, add the new binary, selecting the devices you removed from the old binary, as well as any new devices supported.
Deleting an App Update In-Progress
If you start to create a new version of your app, but decide not to publish the update, you can now delete the unpublished version. Use the Delete Upcoming Version button, at the bottom of the page, to roll back to the currently published version of the app.